African Studies and African History: Gender

ABANTU, founded in 1991, is "a human resource network promoting a gender and African perspective." Projects include an internet training workshop, its magazine, GAP Matters, programs on poverty, governance, conflict, etc. Has offices in Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya.

Reprints articles (on AIDS, ecology, gender, NEPAD, youth, human rights, etc.) from the web such as Inter Press Service and AllAfrica.com stories plus original in-depth articles by its editors and others. . "a network of people committed to Africa through its promotion of human rights, economic justice, African perspectives and alternative analyses." The volunteer network included members of the former "Toronto Committee for the Liberation of Southern Africa (TCLSAC) which,... published the Sout

Funded by the Ford Foundation. Has full text Seminar Papers, full text newsletter, Sexuality in Africa magazine with topics on sexuality and health, religion, violence against women and girls, adolescent education, HIV / AIDS, re-thinking masculinities. Countries of focus are Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa. Lists conferences, events. Is compiling a database of Social Scientists, Anthropologists, Researchers. Based in Lagos, Nigeria.

"Established in 2004, committed to improving health care delivery and services to African women and their families" aimed at African immigrants in the U.S.

Articles on African women from various sources (UNICEF, World Bank, IPS, etc.). Based in Oslo, Norway.

Articles from African news sources.

A regional network of organizations and individuals that work to empower African women's organizations to access and use Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) for equality and development.

Information about the activities of AAWS, and links to related websites on health & human rights, literature, research & teaching, women and youth.

In French, English. "a non profit organisation founded by young women that works for the empowerment of women and children through the use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs)." Programs on health, the environment, ICTs, etc.. Information on women pygmies, l’Association des Peuples autochtones du Congo (APAC). Based in Brazzaville, Congo.

"CamFed is a non-governmental organisation working with rural communities in sub-Saharan Africa to enable more girls to go to school and secure a livelihood." Projects in Zimbabwe, Northern Ghana.

Information on gender developments in South Africa.

A regional network implementing a program on "Communication for Women" aimed primarily at enabling women's organizations in Francophone African countries to use information and communication technologies (ICT) to support their work and providing training in the use of ICT in solidarity campaigns and for profiling the work of women's groups in the West Africa sub-region.

FAWE is a pan-African Non-Governmental Organisation working in 32 African countries to empower girls and women through gender-responsive education. We believe that through education of women and girls, livelihoods are improved for entire communities and civic education and liberties are enhanced.

In English and French. "international women's NGO founded in 1996 by African women leaders in response to the explosion of violent conflicts tearing apart the fabric of society in Africa." Has a directory of African women leaders, a directory of women's orgaizations working for peace, full text press releases on activities, publishes FAS News. Promotes the role of women in the resolution of conflicts and peacebuilding. Works for institutional change in international (African Union, UN) regional

A regional network of African women's non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that share experiences, information and strategies among through advocacy, training and communications so as to advance African women's development, equality and other human rights

In English and French. "Flame is a network of African sisters online committed to strengthening the capacity of women through the use of ICTs [information, communication technology] to lobby, advocate and participate in the Beijing +5 process regionally and globally." Has full text documents, a discussion list on "how women in Africa are using Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) as communicative and information sharing mechanisms".

GBV seeks to become a vibrant space in the Horn, East and Southern Africa for innovation, expertise, experience and exchange on GBV prevention.

NGO "committed to gender equality and pursuit of sustainable development and social justice in Nigeria."

A regional network that communicates ideas, creates solidarity networks and shares information to overcome gender inequalities to meet the need for information by women from various regions of the world.

"(MYWO) started at the height of struggle for Kenya's independence in 1952, an idea conceived by a clique of white settler women in 1952. Today the Organization, older than independent Kenya, has grown to cover the entire country as the largest women NGO in the region." " a non-profit voluntary women's organization with a mission to improve the quality of life of the rural communities especially women and youth..." Based in Nairobi, Kenya.

"A non-political, not for profit public organisation established by [Nigerian] Federal law."

Extensive program in Africa. Use their Search to locate topics. Has a database of full text reports (in Adobe PDF) on reproductive health, female genital cutting. The Council was established in 1952 by John D. Rockefeller 3rd and is based in New York city.

A Cameroonian NGO that promotes individual and collective initiatives to induce rural development, to protect the environment and to improve the well being of the community.

Based in New York, RAINBO is currently focusing its work on
the issue of Female Genital Mutilation.

A regional network supporting and advocating for women's access to and use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs).

Volunteers assist small women-owned businesses in Ghana. Gives workshops such as - pricing basics, strategic planning (with graduates of Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University). Projects include creating purses, wallets, briefcases from used drink sachets.

"created to break women’s isolation and to provide linkages and support to all women whose lives may be affected by Muslim laws." Mainly on the Middle East, North Africa, includes the Sudan. Has full text documents, the table of contents of their journal, Dossier. Reports on Violence Against Women cover the Sudan, female genital mutilation. Based in Combaillaux (Montpellier), France.

A network that is working to advance gender equality and justice in South Africa through the use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) by providing training and facilitating content dissemination and creation that supports women, girls, and women's and gender organizations and networks to take control of their own content and ICT use.

A Uganda network that promotes the use of information and communications technologies (ICTs) by women organizations and individuals for the better being of Ugandan women.